Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Australia vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI Cricket Match

Australia vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI  Cricket Match

Nov 3, 2010 (08:30 IST, 03:20 GMT), Venue: Melbourne

Australia takes on Sri Lanka in the first ODI of the series of three games at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Wednesday. 

Sri Lanka won the first game T20I that both parties have played in the series and held the momentum. 

Australia for its part, will be without Ricky Ponting, who will travel to Tasmania to attend the funeral of his grandmother. This means that the side will be led by Michael Clarke, who has not had a great time as captain. Sri Lanka batting was excellent for the T20I but you need to know the hitters to do a good job too. 

This means that the side will have to have people like Silva and Chamara Kapugedera. For Australia, Michael Hussey and Mitchell Johnson will return to the team as Shane Watson is expected to return to the inlet opening.

Australia 1st ODI Team: 1 Shane Watson, 2 Shaun Marsh, 3 Brad Haddin (wk), 4 Michael Clarke (capt), 5 Cameron White, 6 Michael Hussey, 7 Steven Smith, 8 Mitchell Johnson, 9 John Hastings, 10 Xavier Doherty, 11 Peter Siddle.

Sri Lanka 1st ODI Team: 1 Upul Tharanga, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Mahela Jayawardene, 4 Kumar Sangakkara (capt, wk), 5 Chamara Kapugedera, 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Chamara Silva, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Nuwan Kulasekera, 10 Muttiah Muralitharan, 11 Lasith Malinga.